Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2009_lon/wp-settings.php on line 520 Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2009_lon/wp-settings.php on line 535 Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2009_lon/wp-settings.php on line 542 Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /web/140conf_2009_lon/wp-settings.php on line 578 Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /web/140conf_2009_lon/wp-settings.php on line 18 Schedule « 140 Character Conference

Schedule

Day 1 - 17/11/2009 Print
Last updated on 16/11/2009
8:00am
Doors Open



9:00am
Welcome


Participants:
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - Creator, #140conf
Jeffrey Hayzlett (@JeffreyHayzlett) - CMO, Kodak

9:05am
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - Creator, #140conf
The State of NOW


9:20am
The benefits of twitter…


Participants:
Babs Rangaiah (@babs26) - Vice President, Global Comms Planning, Unilever
Laura Klauberg (@lklauberg) - Vice President, Global Media, Unilever

9:30am
Stephen Fry (@stephenfry) - Actor, Writer



9:50am
Andrew Keen (@ajkeen) - Author, Cult of The Amateur: How the Internet is Killing our Culture
Real-Time and Power


10:00am

10:20am
Venture Outlook: Investing in the Real-Time Internet


Participants:
Mike Butcher (@mikebutcher) - Editor, TechCrunch Europe (moderator)
Roberto Bonanzinga (@Bonanzinga) - Balderton Capital
Saul Klein (@cape) - Index Ventures
Sean Seton-Rogers (@setonrog) - PROfounders Capital

10:35am
Kyra Gaunt, Ph.D. (@kyraocity) - Associate Professor of Music and Anthropology, Baruch College-CUNY, writer, blogger
Racism as a Resource


10:45am
twitter and Small Business


Participants:
Alex Bellinger (@alexbellinger) - Journalist; Founder, SmallBizPod
Becky McCray (@BeckyMcCray) - Founder, Small Biz Survival
Heather Gorringe (@wiggled) - Founder, Wiggly Wigglers
Pamela O'Hara (@pmohara) - Co-founder, Batch Blue

11:05am
Kevin Holley (@gadget37) - Co-inventor of SMS text messaging - currently vice chair of 3GPP SA
How we got to 140 Characters


11:15am
Marsha Collier (@MarshaCollier) - Author, Ebay for Dummies; Radio Host
Evolution of the Online Community to Twitter


11:25am
Daren Forsyth (@DarenBBC) - Founder, 140Characters.co.uk
Serendipity


11:30am
The Making of a Movie...In realtime and tweeting with the stars.


11:40am
Peter Gregson (@petergregson) - Cellist and Co-founder of the Production Company Coffeeloop
twitter and a Cello


11:55am
twitter and Brands


Participants:
James Poulter (@jamespoulter) - Digital Strategist for Ogilvy PR
Jennifer Cisney (@kodakCB) - Kodak's Chief Blogger and Social Media Manager.
Mauricio Samayoa (@msamayoa) - Account Manager, we are social
Mike Mathieson (@mikemath)
Rachel Fellows (@KelloggsUK) - Head of Corporate Communications, Kellogg’s

12:20pm
Kevin Slavin (@slavin) - Managing Director and co-Founder of area/code
Things that tweet


12:30pm
Tony Mattson - Group Business Director, UM London
Power to the people - how social media can drive communications strategies


12:40pm
Patrick Bosteels (@patrickbosteels) - Managing Partner



12:50pm
(via Skype from NYC)
Trust Agents

Participants:
Chris Brogan (@chrisbrogan) - President, New Marketing Labs

1:00pm
- Intermission -



2:10pm
Digital Presence in the Now and Beyond


Participants:
Dean Landsman (@DeanLand) - Media and Communications specialist with decades of experience in broadcasting and the internet.
Dean Meyers (@deanmeistr) - illustrator, designer and developer.

2:25pm
twitter: Music


Participants:
Andrew Davis (@andrew_davis) - Ex MySpace Marketing and Content Manager (06-09). Now Director of The Worst Kept Secret which is teaching what you didnt learn in school. Shhhhhhh
Ebony Rhiney-James (@EbonyRJ) - Digital Marketing Manager at Warner Music Group
Manny Norte (@mannynorte) - Kiss FM
MPHO (@mphosays) - Singer, Songwriter
Tommy D (@TommyDD) - Producer

2:50pm
JP Rangaswami (@jobsworth) - Chief Scientist, BT Group
Twitter the Information Service


3:00pm
Josie Fraser (@josiefraser) - Social & Educational Technologist
The Art & Science of the ReTweet


3:10pm
Federico Grosso (@federicogrosso) - SVP Business Development, Blinkx
Trending Topics: #onlinevideo


3:20pm
twitter: Apps


Participants:
Mario Menti (@mario) - Twitterfeed.com Founder
Mathys van Abbe (@mathys) - Founder & CEO Mobypicture
Nick Halstead (@nickhalstead) - CEO, TweetMeme

3:35pm
Tal Givoly (@givoly) - Chief Scientist, Amdocs
Twitter and Telecom – friend or foe?


3:45pm
Police WHO tweet


Participants:
Chief Inspector Mark Payne (@WMPolice) - West Midlands Police, Head of Press Office
Gordon Scobbie (@ACCatWMpolice) - Assistant Chief Constable, West Midlands Police
Lauri Stevens (@lawscomm) - Social media strategist for Law Enforcement.

4:00pm
twitter and Education


Participants:
David White (@daveowhite) - Chair
Digital Maverick (@digitalmaverick) - Learning technologist, Moodle evangelist
James Clay (@jamesclay) - ILT & Learning Resources Manager at Gloucestershire College e-learning
Shirley Williams (@shirleyearley)
Sue Black (@Dr_Black) - Computer Science Head of Department, University of Westminster

4:20pm
Sky News: Twitter, Reputation and #iranelection


Participants:
Jon Gripton (@JonGrip) - Senior News Editor, Sky News
Maz Nadjm (@Mazi) - Responsible for social networking at Sky Television, sky.com
Ruth Barnett SkyNews (@RuthBarnett) - Twitter correspondent, Sky News

4:30pm
Gerd Leonhard (@gleonhard) - Media Futurist, Author, Blogger
The Future of Content in 140 Characters


4:40pm
Vikki Chowney (@vikkichowney) - Editor of Reputation Online, Centaur
A look at the way online philanthropy is changing due to the introduction of collaborative content production and citizen reporting


4:50pm
Thembisa Mshaka (@putyrdreams1st) - Author, Put Your Dreams First
Celebrity, Personality and Visibility: Smoke and Mirrors in a Right-Now World


5:00pm
twitter and TV


Participants:
Boyd Hilton (@boydhilton) - TV Editor for Heat Magazine
Jonathan Almond (@jonalmond) - Digital Producer / Community Manager - Big Brother
Sam Oakley (@samoakley) - Account Manager at Wolfstar PR (moderator)
Steve Saul (@stephensaul) - Social media/blogger for Simon Cowell's X-Factor

5:15pm
e-democracy


Participants:
Alberto Nardelli (@AlbertoNardelli) - Entrepreneur, co-founder of tweetminster.co.uk, ceo at unltdworld.com.
Amy Sample Ward (@amyrsward) - connecting social change/benefit groups to social media tools for listening, conversations, and more effective real change
Carrie Bishop (@carriebish) - FutureGov
Robert Brook (@robertbrook) - UK Parliament

5:30pm
The Future of Communications


Participants:
Gary Shainberg (@garyshainberg)
Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) - creator, #140conf
Tal Givoly (@givoly) - Chief Scientist, Amdocs

5:45pm
twitter and Media


Participants:
Ciaran Norris (@ciaranj) - Director Invention/SocialMedia8
James Garner (@jamesga) - Editor ComputerWeekly.com
Ray Paul (@raypaulbbc) - Executive Producer for Weekend Programs at BBC Radio 1
Tim Bradshaw (@tim) - Digital media correspondent, Financial Times

6:00pm
End of Conference
credits: Gary Bolles co-host; Dean Landsman Dr. of Time


9:00pm
Floridita (@enternships) - 100 Wardour Street, London, W1F 0TN
#140Conf After-party in association with Enternships.com




* schedule subject to change without notice